h1

Interview with Mats Sjödin, Editor in Chief, Telecom News & TV News (Sweden)

March 14, 2013

By @Rose_at_O, @Olivia_at_O

Mats Sjodin Editor Telekom Nyheterna

Mats is the Editor in Chief of Swedish publications Telekomnyheterna and TV-Nyheterna, or Telecom News and TV News.

Q.  Tell us a bit about yourself: 

From being the silent boy who had to leave school because of my poor results, I have had a long journey. Nowadays I run two newsletters for professionals within the telecom and TV industry in Sweden. I also arrange seminars and networking meetings in these two businesses. In practice this means that I’m working hard to build relationships with important people in both industries – to be first with the best news, of course, but also to find the right speakers for the right events and to attract more people to attend our events. When not working I love fishing, hunting and of course sporting. Something I am particularly proud of is that I made The Swedish Classic 2011. That means I skied Vasaloppet (90 km), biked Vättern runt (300 km), swim Vansbrosimmet (3 km in a really cold river) and run Lidingöloppet (a very hilly 30 km race), in one year.

Q. Tell us a little bit about the titles you write for and their interest in mobile technology: 

Telekomnyheterna is Sweden’s leading news source for decision makers within the telecom industry. We focus on the operators’ businesses, and from that perspective we try to cover what’s hot and not in telecom. The newsletter is emailed to the subscribers around lunch on Monday to Friday with seven to ten news stories per day. Our goal is to find the news as fast as possible – preferably before it happens. 😉 When it comes to TV-Nyheterna, we write a lot about both IPTV and mobile TV.

Q. What’s hot in mobiles and telecoms this year? 

With Mobile World Congress in the mirror, customer experience seems to be one of the hottest topics. Big data and M2M were also quite hot. The topic of phones seems quite cold right now; the only things differentiating them are a few millimetres of screen size and a few megahertz in processor speed. It has become a really boring market.

Q. How many events do you attend each year?  Which ones are you most looking forward to? 

Five to ten per year. I guess MWC in Barcelona is the most important both when it comes to meetings with the best people and when it comes to party life. J I work at least 20 hours a day when I’m there.

Q. What types of stories or companies are likely to attract your attention this year? 

I’m looking a whole lot on the Over-The-Top market (OTT). I think IP-based communication has gone from a market where customers could save money (for example the VoIP) to today’s situation where they are willing to pay for better and specialized services.

Q. What’s the best way to pitch a story to you?

The best way to pitch a story is to keep it relevant. I’m focusing on the Swedish (and sometimes the Nordic) market. So I’m not interested in interviews with people and topics away from that.  Email is probably the easiest way to reach me even though I get between 700 and 900 emails per day.

Q. Who is worth listening to (about mobiles and telecoms)?  And what are your favourite blogs?

I think Bengt Nordström at Northstream is one of my absolute favourites.

Q. What do you think is the most important development in mobiles and telecoms to date? 

One thing that is really important to look at is the radio part of the mobile phone. It seems to have been a lot worse in smartphones, which makes them hard to use where the mobile network isn’t top notch.

Q. What is the best piece of advice for companies pitching stories?

Be relevant and try to understand what kind of stories the media is working with. If you’re not relevant the media will stop listening.

Q. What was the best press trip you’ve ever been on? Worst? Why?

The best must have been a trip to Silicon Valley with Ericsson. I guess it was good since I got time for both interviews and shopping outside the Ericsson arrangement. Can’t remember any particularly bad ones (I’m a positive person).

Q. Are you a social media lover?

I’m on Facebook with four accounts, Twitter with three accounts and of course LinkedIn and Google+. My Twitter handles are @msjodin, @telekomnytt, @tv-nyheterna.

Q. Tell us something no one knows about you.

I have won against Jan Boklöv, the man who invented the V-style in ski jumping (which everyone uses nowadays), in ski jumping when I was 12 years old and he was competing in the World Cup (he fell and I stood).

Q. What have we forgotten to ask you that we should have?wolverine_760_600x450

My standard question to end personal interviews with is: If you were an animal, which would you be?

I would probably be a wolverine. They’re stocky and have a documented ability to kill animals many times larger than themselves. If hunted a wolverine can run up to 48 km/hr without a break.

Leave a Reply

